Preliminary Program: 3rd Conference of the Intercontinental Crosscurrents Network: Crosscurrents Conversation Series June/July 2021

Monday, June 7

8:30 am (PST);
11:30 am (EST);
3:30 pm (GMT)
5:30 pm (CET)
via Zoom
(approx. 2.5 hours, including break)

Keynote: “The Humanitarian Work of Clara Barton,” Jake Wynn (Missing Soldiers Office, Washington, D.C.)

Network Meeting and Three Minute Project Presentations

Stephanie Durrans:
Int. Conference at the Université Bordeaux Montaigne in June 2023 on the “Special Relation” between France and Louisiana”

Jutta Gsoels-Lorensen: “Political Asylum”

Katrin Horn: “19th Century Gossip/ Transnational Knowledge Exchange”

Julia Nitz: “Intertextuality and 19th-century Women Writers”

Joanne Paisana: “Mobility and Memory Culture”

Charlotte Purkis: “Women Critics of the Arts”

June 7 Registration Link: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1SoT_uhCqqBx3na869SWvjoC5tdb7TwHlfnnECXFwMl4/edit

Monday, June 28

8:30 am (PST);
11:30 am (EST);
3:30 pm (GMT)
5:30 pm (CET)
via Zoom
(approx. 2 hours, including break)

“The Devil is in the chores. 19th-Century Romantic Historical Witch Heroines in Domestic Service,” Inês Tadeu FG (University of Madeira)
Response: Rimika Singhvi (IIS University, Jaipur)

“Utterly Inconsolable! Mary Todd Lincoln, FLOTUS, and the Affective Labors of National Mourning,” Stefanie Schäfer (Univ. of Vienna)
Response: Sirpa Salenius (University of Eastern Finland)

June 28 Registration Link:
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1v2xDxSGyekvVPhJwhzKcdJ4Cz1YMl_DkwQSAzxRwUS8/edit

Monday, July 19

8:30 am (PST);
11:30 am (EST);
3:30 pm (GMT)
5:30 pm (CET)
via Zoom
(approx. 2 hours, including break)

“Women and Colonial Knowledge Production: Mabel Bent as Collector, Travel Writer, and Photographer,” Esther Wetzel (Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg)
Response: Verena Laschinger (Erfurt University)

“Baroness Orczy and the British White Feather Campaign,” Agnes Strickland-Pajtok (Eszterházy Károly University, Hungary)
Response: Bahar Gürsel (Middle East Technical University (METU/ODTÜ), Ankara, Turkey)

July 19 Registration Link:
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1vKbLIfJ6EVTz7UPEJH7nIHd3STzNIIkAgZj1hCtFDDM/edit